Arts Department

Brief History of Marathi Department

The Department of Marathi established in June 1970 and became fullfledged in 1974. Akalkot being a rural and drought prone area on boundary line of Karnataka and Maharashtra state. Here,Majority of the people use Kannada as their link language so,we had a lot of difficulties to develop the departments. At the begining late Mr.K.B.Bhande, Dr. N.S.Kunte and Miss Naregalkar worked and enriched the department. Now the department has two members 1.Assot. Prof. J. G. Khanapure (Head of Department) 2. Assot. Prof. O. V. Talekar. The faculty members are very good, sincere, competent and co-operative.They are trying to update their knowledge by attending refresher courses, seminars and conferences.The faculty members of the department always contribute their share to college and University.

Points Explanation
Course taught B.A.I, II, III at Undergraduate Level
Innovative teaching method Lecture, Group Discussion, Question-answer, Board-Writing
Teaching-aids Audio, Video
Teaching Plan Teaching plan are prepared class wise and paper wise for the academic years
Curricular Activities Run by Department Arranging lecture series for students inviting outside scholars.
Co-curricular Activities Run by Department Conducting seminars, Group-discussions, debating & study tours some times
Achievements of the Department Awarded "first prize" in (One Act Play) Youth festival, Shivaji University, Kolhapur.
Other Acadymic contrubution Hastlikhit(Hand Written) Magazine named "Abhivyakti" actively run by departmental students

Visitors To The Department

  1. Late Kavivarrya Balkrushna Borkar.
  2. Natashreshta Prabhakar Panshikar.
  3. Natashreshta Daji Bhatavadekar.
  4. Late T. V. Sardeshmukh.
  5. Dr. Nirmalkumar Phadkule.
  6. Shriram Pujari.
  7. Dr. Rajshekhar Hiremath.
  8. Dr. N. S. Kunte.

Distinguished Alumini of the Department

  1. Shri Shashikant Joshi ( CID officer & Story writer )
  2. Adv.Shri. Sunil Hatte ( Advocate )
  3. Shri. Baba Nimbalkar ( Journlist )
  4. Shri. Hajju Shabbir ( Poet and Lecturer )
  5. Shri. Tipramaji Suryavanshi ( Ex.President of Akalkot Muncipal Council, Akalkot. )
  6. Shri. S.A.Dhadke ( Lecturer and Coordinator of Samarasta Sahitya Sanmelan.)